Emotion in Writing

Since I posted David Farland’s article on writing men characters who should be tough; I thought I should include part of his post today…

“Last week, I wrote an article about how too often, women write about men who are crybabies. So I thought I should now write an article about why you as a writer should be weeping.

“One Greek philosopher, I think it was Socrates, said something to the effect that ‘You can tell that a story will be great if, when you boil it down to a single sentence, it makes your hearer weep.’

“In short, your stories should have a powerful emotional impact. The story doesn’t necessarily need to make your reader weep. It might make the audience laugh. It might make them scream. Or it might make your reader cry—even if they’re tough guys.

***

“…Your work should … convey the depth of your passion, whatever passion you are trying to express, and move others to tears.

“How do you know when you’re succeeding? One way is if the story moves you to tears. If it does, then it’s working for you. Hopefully, it will work for others. So, last week, I had a writer ask, ‘Do you ever cry when you reach the end of your novel?’ The answer is, ‘Only when I get it right.'”

This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

