Discouragement

If you read my blog, you’ll know it’s been a while since I posted anything. That is partly due to having little time for writing, but also due to me being discouraged.  It seems like nothing is happening with Jane’s and my book.  And then I recently finished reading a YA fantasy book by a well-known author and found many things that I thought could/should have been changed to strengthen in the book. (Like echoes– using the same word four times on the same page). So I wonder, what does it take to get a book published, anyway?  I can’t seem to get anyone to even read mine.   

I’d give up but that makes me feel worse.

So this morning I talked to Jane and made some decisions as to what we’re going to do next. Then I checked my email and read a good article by David Farland. It made me feel better so I’m sharing part of it, as follows:

“Today I read a critique of an excellent novel by a new author that was probably rather poisonous for the writer. In this critique, an elderly nonfiction editor said some things that were rather derogatory, criticizing the novel for being young-adult wish fulfillment, for pandering to the sensibilities of the author’s church, and so on.

“I have to say that the critique both worried and angered me. What if the author took this as authoritative? What if he quit writing, or found himself changing his work to suit the critic’s tastes?

“You see, the only thing that the critic really said was wrong was that, figuratively, ‘This book is chocolate. I like vanilla!’…Beware of any teacher or critic who adopts an ELITIST attitude. They’ll waste your time, suck up your energy, and most likely just spit you out, like a rabbit that has been partially digested by a python and then regurgitated for no identifiable reason… if you encounter anyone whose critique could be summed up as ‘I don’t like things written to your chosen audience,’ feel free to ignore their comments. Let them waste THEIR time, not yours. 

“Most importantly, be true to your heart. If you love writing in a particular genre, learn to do it well. Don’t listen to dangerous critics who would lead you down paths where you don’t want to go.”

This entry was posted in On Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

