Wolves, Boys and Other Things that Might Kill Me

Kristen Chandler is a friend I met at WIFYR and Writing for Charity. I finally read her first YA contemporary novel Wolves, Boys and Other Things That Might Kill Me. I think she did a good job and found it especially interesting because of the “outdoorsy” elements.  I loved how she set up the last line of the book. If you like YA contemporary, I think you’d like this book.

On the other hand, I also read (well sort of read) Dreaming Anastasia by Joy Preble, and it wasn’t my favorite even though it has elements of time travel and fantasy. It has multiple POVs changing at chapter breaks. The third POV was done through journel entries. Unfortunately, to show the change in POV, the book has a different font. The typestyle used looks like real handwriting, but at least for me it was difficult to read. It took me out of the story several times because I’d have to stop and decipher a word. When I got to the second chapter with the strange font, I didn’t love the characters enough to struggle through it. So I skipped to the end and read the last four-five chapters to find out what happened and called it quits. Again this was a first novel and I learned some things about the writing process while reading it–for one thing I would be cautious about using a strange font. Also, I enjoyed reading the acknowledgements to see those who helped the author along the way.

This entry was posted in On Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

