Books

So, I realized when I said I went to the library a few days ago and saw all the new books that it implied I was reading all the new books. Not so. I just got a bunch that I hadn’t yet got around to reading.  It became even clearer to me yesterday that I haven’t been keeping up when I read which books won the various 2011 ALA awards and I wasn’t familiar with any of them.

My only excuse is that I spent 2010 writing instead of reading.

Trying to catch up, I finished a couple more books over the weekend: The Lightning Thief (Rick Riordan 2005) and The Chosen One (Carol Lynch Williams 2009).  

After I started reading LT, I wanted to finish it to see what happened but it totally struck me as a book for middle grade boys.  A fun read but not exactly my type.

On the other hand, when I read the first paragraph of CO, I was hooked big time. I couldn’t read it fast enough, and then I was… affected. I was trying to explain it to my husband and struggled to find the adjectives I wanted to describe the book. I looked on the back cover and had to agree with author Sara Zarr who said it was “unsettling and courageous…beautiful, compassionate, and full of hope.”  

WOW!  And even as I’m very impressed, I know I couldn’t ever write something like that. It isn’t my type either. I need to stick with fantasy.  But let me add that Carol is amazing at YA and this book is heartwrenching.  I’m very excited to be going to a workshop in March that she is co-sponsoring.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

