Reading, Reading, Reading

I went to the library yesterday afternoon. I haven’t been in quite a while so it was fun to see all of the new books! I checked out thirteen, as that was how many I could carry without a bookbag. Some were books whose author, agent, or editor I knew or had met. A couple were books I’ve read before and one was the 2010 Newbery Award winner.

I started with the Newbery winner:  When You Reach Me, by Rebecca Stead. It was charming. I liked the MC immediately and loved her voice. I thought the book was well written and very clever the way the author wove elements of A Wrinkle In Time into her story. In short, it was a good read and I’d suggest it to those who haven’t yet read it.

Next, I read The Year the Swallows Came Early, by Kathryn Fitzmaurice. It contained a character similar to one in the book by Rebecca Stead, which I found interesting. And they both had a small section with numbered paragraphs. I haven’t seen that before–maybe it’s the “new thing” to do in formatting. The storyline was simpler than Stead’s book but still interesting, and the book’s underlying message of accepting people as they are, was good. 

Well, it’s another snowy day here. We got about 12 inches overnight. So it is the perfect day to stay inside and keep reading. I’d love to hear your opinions about any books you’re currently reading.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

