Magic

Has anyone else wondered about the flack thrown at Harry Potter and other children’s books that happen to have magic in them?

Some people feel any mention of the word “witch” or “socery” or “magic” is evil. I heard Shannon Hale say she has received hate mail regarding some of her books. That was hard for me to believe because I think her stuff is simply delightful! 

As you may have guessed, Jane’s and my book has magic in it–that is the definition of a fantasy by the way. Science fiction has super-advanced-technology, while fantasy has some kind of power or magic.

Personally, I don’t find “fantasy” evil. I find it thought-provoking, interesting, and entertaining. Plus, I don’t think writing about fictional magic is anything like actually performing spells or witchcraft; anymore than I think writing a murder mystery is anything like actually killing someone.

When I was in high school, I took a sociology class where the teacher wanted to expose his students to all different kinds of people and situations. We did a class project to help the indigent, we discussed various religions, and among other things he had a girl in our class tell us about the coven she and her sister belonged to.  I didn’t like that–it felt sinister–to hear her describe spells and rituals she had performed or watched performed by professed witches. Since that time, I’ve never much liked Halloween. But, I don’t feel that way at all when reading or writing fantasy. In fact I enjoy the genre because it often describes the age-old battle of good versus evil–with good always winning. 

And, though I feel like I get help and inspiration when I write, that my talent is actually a gift from God; I fully expect when our book is available for anyone to read that Jane and I will have people who hate it and say it is evil. I don’t know that there is any way to change people’s opinions. Maybe that is okay, after all we are free to read or not read whatever we want; and that is a great blessing.

This entry was posted in On Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magic

  1. JoAnne Coakley says:

    There will always be people whose minds are so narrow they can’t fit anything into them that isn’t old and familiar. They won’t give anything new a chance. There isn’t much we can do about them. I say write for the others and ignore the malcontent.

Leave a Reply

