Word Count – Does it Matter?

I’ve been reading Harry Potter 6 again to get ready for the upcoming Harry Potter 7 movie release. 🙂

It got me wondering about word counts. I googled to find the number of words in each of the 7 HP books. Here’s what I found on a random website:  Socerer’s Stone 76,944 words; Chamber of Secrets 85,141 words; Prisoner of Azkaban 107,253 words; Goblet of Fire 190,637 words; Order of the Phoenix 257,045 words; Half Blood Prince 168,923 words; Deathly Hallows 204,796 words.

I read some comments on the site with the consensus that editors don’t want to read YA books longer than about 80,000 words. I wonder if it is true? If so, we’ll be doing some editing because Jane and I passed 90,000 words today.

(We’re to the last chapter and hopefully we’ll hit our deadline for completion.)

This entry was posted in On Writing, Timeweavers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

