2 a.m. Phone Call

My cell phone rang in the middle of the night last night. I don’t know about you, but that is unusual for me.

My cell is the same one I had when we lived in Toledo so it has an Ohio area code. It was 2 a.m. Utah time. That’s 4 a.m. Ohio time.

It was a wrong number. But, it got my heart jumping because really, who calls anyone at that hour–Utah or Ohio time–unless it’s an emergency? Within minutes, my sweet hubby was sleeping soundly again.

Me? It took a while.

The topic on my mind was Timeweavers. And I thought of something. (I’ll run it past Jane of course, but she’s on vacation. So, Jane if you’re reading this, please feel free to comment.) The idea is that we don’t necessarily wait to hear from the Andrea Brown Literary Agency.

You see, having Mary Kole read our submission is great (!), but even she said that authors shouldn’t sub to one place and wait, but that authors should sub their work to several agents at once.

After all, you have to find the right fit. You need the agent who loves your work and believes in you, and the agent who you trust and with whom you feel comfortable working.  I’ve heard the author-agent relationship compared to a marriage. Even if you someday decide to part ways, the profits from any books you did together –like children– are still shared.

My idea doesn’t change things much. The plan remains the same: to polish and tighten our book so it is ready to sub to an agent, should one ask for the entire manuscript. I think within a week or two we’ll be ready since we did a lot of revising and polishing along the way.  Then, with Jane’s blessing, we’ll sub it to several agencies. We had begun the process of choosing who to send it to before the WIFYR conference, and Andrea Brown was one of the agencies.

I think this new idea will turn out nicely. 

I’ll keep you posted.

This entry was posted in Timeweavers and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

